Meet our Board of Directors

Spark Kansas City, photo by Freddie Cabrera

Spark Kansas City, photo by Freddie Cabrera

The Startland News board of directors is tasked with the governance and financial oversight of Startland — a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization which houses the independently operated publication. Its members do not have any influence over the news operation, its editors or staff. Startland News has declared editorial independence in line with the standards and practices of the Institute for Nonprofit News. 

  • Steven Anthony, executive director of business development, Economic Development Corporation of KCMO
  • Chris Barton, senior director, corporate development and capital venture, Cerner
  • Kalinda Calkins, SVP, treasury services manager, BOK Financial
  • Sheri Gonzalez, vice provost of strategic initiatives and community relations, University of Kansas
  • Davin Gordon, program officer, Hall Family Foundation
  • Doranne Hudson, retired executive and community leader 
  • Martha McCabe, executive director, KC STEM Alliance
  • Matthew Mellor, retired CEO, Strenuus
  • Anurag Patel, founder and CEO, Abada Health
  • Shawnee Peterson-Caruthers, director, Getting Smart
  • Karen Sandnes, vice president of operations, C2FO
  • Leigh Anne Taylor Knight, executive director and COO, the DeBruce Foundation
  • India Wells-Carter,  founder, Fresh Factory KC




© Copyright 2024 - Startland News